Current Muhurtas

In any daytime there are certain periods, which have special meaning.

Yama Ghantaka

{[kalams.yg.start]} - {[kalams.yg.end]}

Rishi Vasishtha: "Yama Ghantaka should always be avoided in any Muhurta for auspicious (Shubha) activity". It is considered that any activity (especially travelling) started during the period of Yama Ghantaka pushes the one towards to death.

Abhijeet Muhurta

{[kalams.am.start]} - {[kalams.am.end]}

Abhijit Muhurta is one of the most auspicious and powerful criteria for initiating all types of works.

Brahma Muhurta

{[kalams.bm.start]} - {[kalams.bm.end]}

Brahma Muhurta is optimal for waking up as well as any activity connected to spiritual practices (such as Hatha Yoga, Dhyana (meditation), etc), creating, planning, projections etc.

Gulikā Kalām

{[kalams.gk.start]} - {[kalams.gk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Gulika Kalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Rahu Kalām

{[kalams.rk.start]} - {[kalams.rk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Rahu Kaalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Monthly Panchanga calendar


With help of our unique Favorability Chart You can evaluate favorability of any moment in time with help of numerous parameters of vedic astrology.

This particular chart shows overall favourability for today based on Your current location - Ashburn, Virginia, United States. Vertical string denotes current moment of May 25, 2024, 12:23 PM.

Show detailed Favorability Chart



Below You can find the information on geolocation used for all calculations on the VedicTime by default.

Your current location was detected automatically. If it's incorrect, set it manually.


Settings of current section change the display of Janma Kundali (birth chart).

Graha Drishti (planet aspects)

Rashi Drishti (sign aspects)

Other settings


Krishna Dwitiya is the name for the 17th Tithi (lunar day). It's the 2nd Tithi of Krishnapaksha. It's nature is Mangala Prada, which can be interpreted as "one that augurs auspiciousness". It's good for following works: Upanayana, Deva Pratishta (installation of God's/deity's idol or picture), all Paushtik (developmental) and Manglik (the word "Mangala" can be translated from sanskrit as "auspicious") works, Alankara (ornamentation), ornament making and wearing, starting and ending fasts, activity related to house, government related activity, treasury, army, travelling, music, art, sculpture, marriage.

Brahma (a God of creation, first deity of Hindu Triad - Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva) is Devata which rules Dwitiya (according to Muhurta Chintamani and Poorva Kalamrita). Thus, all works that are related to creation or any kind of auspicious undertaking are suitable for this day. As for Brihat Samhita, Krishna Dwitiya is ruled by Vidhata (as per Brahma-Purana - one of Ādityas, son of Daksha and Aditi) or Shrashta (one sacred form of Surya, the Sun).

Being Bhadra (that can be translated as "lucky") and ruled by Buddha (Mercury), the 2nd Tithi of Krishnapaksha is suitable for following works or actions: marriage, Upanayana, ornament making and using, clothes; art; travelling by elephant or horses, travel, conveyance; making of roads; oil massage.

During the vedic months Shravana and Bhadrapada Krishna Dwitiya becomes Maasa Shoonya Tithi. Anuradha Nakshatra also becomes Tithi Shoonya if it falls on Krishna Dwitiya. It's considered that all auspicious works done during Tithi Shoonya periods will be destroyed.

If Surya (Sun) transits through Dhanu (Sagittarius) or Meena (Pisces) during Krishna Dwitiya, it becomes Dagdha (burned) Tithi. Dagdha Tithis are known as inauspicious for starting any kind of work. Rishi (sage) Brihaspati also says that if Dagdha is present either for Lagna or Tithi then it inflicts death.

Shiva is the 20th Nitya (Naisargika) Yoga, which is ruled by Mitra and considered to be benefic. Its effect usually described as "auspicious". Graha, who's ruling Shiva Nitya Yoga, is Buddha (Mercury).

Read more