Current Muhurtas

In any daytime there are certain periods, which have special meaning.

Yama Ghantaka

{[kalams.yg.start]} - {[kalams.yg.end]}

Rishi Vasishtha: "Yama Ghantaka should always be avoided in any Muhurta for auspicious (Shubha) activity". It is considered that any activity (especially travelling) started during the period of Yama Ghantaka pushes the one towards to death.

Abhijeet Muhurta

{[kalams.am.start]} - {[kalams.am.end]}

Abhijit Muhurta is one of the most auspicious and powerful criteria for initiating all types of works.

Brahma Muhurta

{[kalams.bm.start]} - {[kalams.bm.end]}

Brahma Muhurta is optimal for waking up as well as any activity connected to spiritual practices (such as Hatha Yoga, Dhyana (meditation), etc), creating, planning, projections etc.

Gulikā Kalām

{[kalams.gk.start]} - {[kalams.gk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Gulika Kalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Rahu Kalām

{[kalams.rk.start]} - {[kalams.rk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Rahu Kaalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Monthly Panchanga calendar


With help of our unique Favorability Chart You can evaluate favorability of any moment in time with help of numerous parameters of vedic astrology.

This particular chart shows overall favourability for today based on Your current location - Ashburn, Virginia, United States. Vertical string denotes current moment of Jun 12, 2024, 5:49 PM.

Show detailed Favorability Chart



Below You can find the information on geolocation used for all calculations on the VedicTime by default.

Your current location was detected automatically. If it's incorrect, set it manually.


Settings of current section change the display of Janma Kundali (birth chart).

Graha Drishti (planet aspects)

Rashi Drishti (sign aspects)

Other settings


Dhanu (Sagittarius) is the centaur — a horse-like beast with a human upper part holding a bow and shooting an arrow toward the sky. The Sanskrit name for the sign refers merely to the bow, the arrow, and the shooting. The geometrical symbol is comprised of a cross, and one arm of which becomes an arrow pointing upward.

All these symbols reveal the transforming effect of this sign. Dhanu (Sagittarius) symbolizes the transformation of beast into human being, of the base nature into more noble qualities. But this transformation creates turmoil, challenge, confrontation and spiritual wanderings. One's existence becomes a spiritual quest, but it is not a peaceful process. It produces a radical change. Dhanu (Sagittarius) is masculine and fiery. The spiritualizing process will require that materiality be burnt away. For this reason, the radiation has to be powerful, purposeful, effective and well directed. These are the qualities emphasized by masculine fire. Dhanu (Sagittarius) is a common sign, containing both fixed and movable properties. This means that the ninth sign can unsettle the life-style as well as consolidate it, depending on the astrological circumstances. Whatever the effect of this sign, life's unfoldment under its impact reveals the future destiny of the struggling soul. This makes the sign auspicious. The eighth sign leads to an awakening of consciousness. If this impulse operates on a spiritualizing level in the ninth sign, the various aspects of human nature are harmonized with the universal principle. A greater affinity is created between the separate consciousness of the individual and the universal consciousness of the Divine. Individual characteristics become universal ones. If this sounds vague, it is because the change may occur on any number of levels, in all of which the individual approach is destroyed and the natural process of change is cultivated. In this way Dhanu (Sagittarius) is deeply religious. This also explains why Guru (Jupiter) has ownership of this sign. No other planet has any special impact on this sign unless it operates under Guru's authority and jurisdiction.

Dhanu (Sagittarius), the ninth sign, is the Dharma of the cosmic deity. It leads to the unfoldment of the Divine Essence. The outflow from this sign is God's grace, but such an influence cannot be expected to produce a life of ease and comfort. God's grace does not imply a reinforcement of one's traditional beliefs, habits and superstitions. As a matter of fact, life under this impulse is subject to radical transmutation: everyday experiences can be transformed into ideas and ideas into ideals. Dhanu (Sagittarius) enables the Divine Spirit to illuminate die inner man.

The Shastras say that any business or enterprise begun during active Aswini Nakshatra will bring early good results.

Read more