Current Muhurtas

In any daytime there are certain periods, which have special meaning.

Yama Ghantaka

{[kalams.yg.start]} - {[kalams.yg.end]}

Rishi Vasishtha: "Yama Ghantaka should always be avoided in any Muhurta for auspicious (Shubha) activity". It is considered that any activity (especially travelling) started during the period of Yama Ghantaka pushes the one towards to death.

Abhijeet Muhurta

{[kalams.am.start]} - {[kalams.am.end]}

Abhijit Muhurta is one of the most auspicious and powerful criteria for initiating all types of works.

Brahma Muhurta

{[kalams.bm.start]} - {[kalams.bm.end]}

Brahma Muhurta is optimal for waking up as well as any activity connected to spiritual practices (such as Hatha Yoga, Dhyana (meditation), etc), creating, planning, projections etc.

Gulikā Kalām

{[kalams.gk.start]} - {[kalams.gk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Gulika Kalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Rahu Kalām

{[kalams.rk.start]} - {[kalams.rk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Rahu Kaalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Monthly Panchanga calendar


With help of our unique Favorability Chart You can evaluate favorability of any moment in time with help of numerous parameters of vedic astrology.

This particular chart shows overall favourability for today based on Your current location - Ashburn, Virginia, United States. Vertical string denotes current moment of May 25, 2024, 2:29 PM.

Show detailed Favorability Chart



Below You can find the information on geolocation used for all calculations on the VedicTime by default.

Your current location was detected automatically. If it's incorrect, set it manually.


Settings of current section change the display of Janma Kundali (birth chart).

Graha Drishti (planet aspects)

Rashi Drishti (sign aspects)

Other settings


Shukla Dwadashi is the name for the 12th Tithi (lunar day). It's the 12th Tithi of Shuklapaksha. Its nature is Yasha Prada, which can be interpreted as "fame giver". It's good for following works: movable or fixed works; peaceful or Paushtik works, first feeding, Upanayana, marriage. Travelling, entering into new house and oil massage should be avoided.

Vishnu is Devata which rules Dwadashi (according to Muhurta Chintamani and Poorva Kalamrita). Vishnu is Devata who stays for preservation, he's a divine power keeper. As per Brihat Samhita, Shukla Dwadashi is ruled by Savitar (one form of Surya, the Sun) and all actions done in respect of Savitar or Surya (health, king, governmental works, helping father etc) are acceptable during this day.

Being Bhadra (that can be translated as "lucky") and ruled by Buddha (Mercury), the 12th Tithi of Shuklapaksha is suitable for following works or actions: marriage, Upanayana, ornament making and using, clothes; art; travelling by elephant or horses, travel, conveyance; making of roads; oil massage.

During the vedic month Magha Shukla Dwadashi becomes Sompad (that can be translated as wealth, possession, success) Tithi, which is considered  very auspicious in succeeding in works started during this Tithi. Also in vedic month Kartika Shukla Dwadashi is called Tamas - Manvadi Tithi, which is considered to be extremely auspicious for any Punya Karma (Japa, Tapa, Dana, Havan, Homa etc.). But being Manvadi Tithi Shukla Dwadashi should be avoided in starting of education, Upanayana, marriage, ending of fasts, construction of house and entering thereof; travelling; plantation works.

During the vedic month Vaishakha Shukla Dwadashi becomes Maasa Shunya Tithi, which is considered inauspicious in succeeding in works started during this Tithi.

Ashlesha Nakshatra becomes Tithi Shoonya if it falls on Shukla Dwadashi. It's considered that all auspicious works done during Tithi Shoonya periods will be destroyed.

If Surya (Sun) transits through Tula (Libra) or Kumbha (Aquarius) during Shukla Dwadashi, it becomes Dagdha Tithi. Dagdha Tithis are known as inauspicious for starting any kind of work. Rishi (sage) Brihaspati also says that if Dagdha is present either for Lagna or Tithi then it inflicts death.

Dhriti is the 8th Nitya (Naisargika) Yoga, which is ruled by Apas (another name is Jala) and considered to be benefic. Its effect usually described as "holding", "steadiness", "retention" or "delightful". Graha, who's ruling Dhriti, is Rahu.

Read more