Current Muhurtas

In any daytime there are certain periods, which have special meaning.

Yama Ghantaka

{[kalams.yg.start]} - {[kalams.yg.end]}

Rishi Vasishtha: "Yama Ghantaka should always be avoided in any Muhurta for auspicious (Shubha) activity". It is considered that any activity (especially travelling) started during the period of Yama Ghantaka pushes the one towards to death.

Abhijeet Muhurta

{[kalams.am.start]} - {[kalams.am.end]}

Abhijit Muhurta is one of the most auspicious and powerful criteria for initiating all types of works.

Brahma Muhurta

{[kalams.bm.start]} - {[kalams.bm.end]}

Brahma Muhurta is optimal for waking up as well as any activity connected to spiritual practices (such as Hatha Yoga, Dhyana (meditation), etc), creating, planning, projections etc.

Gulikā Kalām

{[kalams.gk.start]} - {[kalams.gk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Gulika Kalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Rahu Kalām

{[kalams.rk.start]} - {[kalams.rk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Rahu Kaalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Monthly Panchanga calendar


With help of our unique Favorability Chart You can evaluate favorability of any moment in time with help of numerous parameters of vedic astrology.

This particular chart shows overall favourability for today based on Your current location - Ashburn, Virginia, United States. Vertical string denotes current moment of Jul 22, 2024, 3:32 PM.

Show detailed Favorability Chart



Below You can find the information on geolocation used for all calculations on the VedicTime by default.

Your current location was detected automatically. If it's incorrect, set it manually.


Settings of current section change the display of Janma Kundali (birth chart).

Graha Drishti (planet aspects)

Rashi Drishti (sign aspects)

Other settings



The main parameters in Jyotish (vedic astrology) are Rashi (zodiac signs) and Grahas (planets), that lie underneath everything that happens or exists in this world (events, individuals, objects).

Graha (if translated from Sanskrit) means "the one that controls". The physical bodies of Grahas in our world are planets. But the physical body of each Graha is only a small fraction of the whole concept of the term "Graha" as the planets representing Grahas are only terminals or visual forms. First of all, Grahas are also Devatas (Deva is the Sanskrit term for male-deity, Devi - the Sanskrit term for "female-deity). Devas are the sources of energies that structure everything in our world. With the right use of knowledge about those or other influences that Grahas have, the one can create a Kundali (horoscope) at any object and get a specific picture and knowledge about it.

Grahas are the main forces in our world, and the signs of the Zodiac are specific zones in space and time (which can be called as "slices of our consciousness") that Grahas influence. In other words, Rashi are certain spheres of our life. For example, the 4th Rashi (or Bhava) is responsible for family life and the disposition of Grahas in it will greatly affect a person's family life. Hence, it can be concluded that almost everything in a person's life depends on GrahasGrahas are Devatas, who keep the whole Karma of people. On one hand any Graha can raise negative / positive Karma and on the other hand - let it off. Also according to Graha's position and Upayas (actions that are related to Graha) done by a particular person, Grahas can either intensify or skip certain Samskaras (term "samskaras" can be translated from sanskrit as "seeds of Karma").

In this section you will find information on 9 Grahas: Surya (Sun), Chandra (the Moon), Mangala (Mars), Buddha (Mercury), Guru (Jupiter), Shukra (Venus), Shani (Saturn), Rahu (Northern Node) and Ketu (Southern Node).

Vajra is the 15th Nitya (Naisargika) Yoga, which is ruled by Varuna and considered to be malefic one (especially first 3 Ghatis of it). Its effect can be described as "thunderbolt", "hard", "impenetrable". Chandra is a Graha, who's ruling Vajra.

Read more