Current Muhurtas

In any daytime there are certain periods, which have special meaning.

Yama Ghantaka

{[kalams.yg.start]} - {[kalams.yg.end]}

Rishi Vasishtha: "Yama Ghantaka should always be avoided in any Muhurta for auspicious (Shubha) activity". It is considered that any activity (especially travelling) started during the period of Yama Ghantaka pushes the one towards to death.

Abhijeet Muhurta

{[kalams.am.start]} - {[kalams.am.end]}

Abhijit Muhurta is one of the most auspicious and powerful criteria for initiating all types of works.

Brahma Muhurta

{[kalams.bm.start]} - {[kalams.bm.end]}

Brahma Muhurta is optimal for waking up as well as any activity connected to spiritual practices (such as Hatha Yoga, Dhyana (meditation), etc), creating, planning, projections etc.

Gulikā Kalām

{[kalams.gk.start]} - {[kalams.gk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Gulika Kalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Rahu Kalām

{[kalams.rk.start]} - {[kalams.rk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Rahu Kaalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Monthly Panchanga calendar


With help of our unique Favorability Chart You can evaluate favorability of any moment in time with help of numerous parameters of vedic astrology.

This particular chart shows overall favourability for today based on Your current location - Ashburn, Virginia, United States. Vertical string denotes current moment of Jun 12, 2024, 5:32 PM.

Show detailed Favorability Chart



Below You can find the information on geolocation used for all calculations on the VedicTime by default.

Your current location was detected automatically. If it's incorrect, set it manually.


Settings of current section change the display of Janma Kundali (birth chart).

Graha Drishti (planet aspects)

Rashi Drishti (sign aspects)

Other settings


Jyotish: fundamental systems and divisions

NB! Please, take into consideration: the text below is not finished and still needs corrections.

There is a number of systems in Jyotish, based on the same astrological concept (Rāshis (zodiac signs), Grahas (planets), etc.), which are quite different from each other having unique techniques.:

1Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra - science, the most common and popular in the world, which was going from Rishi named Parashara (Parashara).
2) Jaimini (Jaimini) - second system, which was going from the Rishis by name Jaimini (Jaimini).
3) Tajik (Tajika) is another system from Rishi Tajik (Tajika).
4) Naadii or Nādī Jyotish - the most esoteric and secret part of Jyotish.
5) Krishnamurti Paddati (Krishnamurti Paddhathi or KP) - modern system, introduced in the mid-20th century.

Each of these areas represents a separate Jyotish system that operates independently of the others. Each of the systems if their absolute identity leads to the same results in the same cases. But also each system should be specific, aimed at specific individuals and is used in some cases.
All of the Vedas are divided into Jyotish individual parts, the so called Skantha (Skantha in Sanskrit means "nodes", "branches"):

1) Natal Astrology (sometimes referred to as Jatana - preparation of the horoscope (Kundali) for a specific individual with reference to the date of his birth is a main section of Jyotisha, which is closely linked with all the other branches of Vedic Astrology (synastric (Kut), medical astrology, etc.). In general, there are 3 types of astrology Horoscopes:
a) Janma Kundali (Janma Kundali) is a horoscope drawn up on the basis of the data of birth of the individual.
b) Prashna Kundali (Prashna Kundali) is a horoscope drawn up on the basis of the time in which it was asked.
c) Muhurta Kundali (Muhurta Kundali) is a horoscope drawn up at the time the best time for doing any act.

If we make a Kundali, we see the past, present and future of man. And that's in a Janma Kundali person cannot be changed if he does not use that in Vedic tradition is called Upaya. Upaya is a measure of compensation. If a person does not make Upayas, he is unable to change events in life, ordained him destiny, man has "no choice". Jyotish is just did and is defining Upayas. In general, the practice of Yoga itself is a powerful measure of compensation for any supply chain events in human life.

2) Siddhanta (Siddhanta)-Vedic astronomy. This system is responsible for all mathematical calculations needed to produce a correct horoscope for a particular person, event, etc. using all calculations are made, Siddhanta regarding movement of Grahas, since before calculation Janma Kundali person, you must first calculate the exact position of each of the planets, which determines the impact generated by these planets. Such calculations are now computer programs, because if such technical calculations to manually, it takes much more time. In ancient times, people have a much more perfect consciousness than now, in the Kali Yuga, and, without the need of writing, they have made all the calculations in mind. Counting the movement of planets, they do even without a telescope.

3) Muhurta (Muhurta) or Electional Astrology. This is one of the systems in Jyotish Veda aimed at choosing the most auspicious time for certain actions. The fate of the phenomena, objects, individuals depends entirely on the specific provisions of the Grahas, which affect the quality of the result. Thus the same effect with the same actors can (and will) have a different result depending on the time when this action was. Thus Muhurta is the selection of the most favorable time for any person, for any of its actions depending on the influence of the planets, the Lagna, etc.

4) Prashna - the system in horary astrology, aimed at finding an answer to any question, depending on the time when the question was posed.

5) Shakuna and Nimitta is the most complex system will take and characters in Jyotish that allows you to analyze the problem (or a particular situation) on the basis of the prevailing around the situation. This is a separate section in the Vedic tradition, which, first of all, is closely associated with section Muhurta.

Person, who's born in Uttara Phalguni will be humble, devoted to religious affairs, interested in learning, dignified and have a high sense of self-respect.

Read more