Current Muhurtas

In any daytime there are certain periods, which have special meaning.

Yama Ghantaka

{[kalams.yg.start]} - {[kalams.yg.end]}

Rishi Vasishtha: "Yama Ghantaka should always be avoided in any Muhurta for auspicious (Shubha) activity". It is considered that any activity (especially travelling) started during the period of Yama Ghantaka pushes the one towards to death.

Abhijeet Muhurta

{[kalams.am.start]} - {[kalams.am.end]}

Abhijit Muhurta is one of the most auspicious and powerful criteria for initiating all types of works.

Brahma Muhurta

{[kalams.bm.start]} - {[kalams.bm.end]}

Brahma Muhurta is optimal for waking up as well as any activity connected to spiritual practices (such as Hatha Yoga, Dhyana (meditation), etc), creating, planning, projections etc.

Gulikā Kalām

{[kalams.gk.start]} - {[kalams.gk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Gulika Kalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Rahu Kalām

{[kalams.rk.start]} - {[kalams.rk.end]}

According to Jyotish knowledge Rahu Kaalam is a very negative (Ashubha) period of time every day that should be shunned for all auspicious and beneficial activities.

Monthly Panchanga calendar


With help of our unique Favorability Chart You can evaluate favorability of any moment in time with help of numerous parameters of vedic astrology.

This particular chart shows overall favourability for today based on Your current location - Ashburn, Virginia, United States. Vertical string denotes current moment of Jun 12, 2024, 5:39 PM.

Show detailed Favorability Chart



Below You can find the information on geolocation used for all calculations on the VedicTime by default.

Your current location was detected automatically. If it's incorrect, set it manually.


Settings of current section change the display of Janma Kundali (birth chart).

Graha Drishti (planet aspects)

Rashi Drishti (sign aspects)

Other settings


  • Surya Grahana, 2015-03-20 9:46 a.m. (UTC)

    Surya Grahana

    On the 20th of March, 2015 Surya Grahana (Solar eclipse) will occur in Meena Rashi, Uttara Bhadrapada Nakshatra from 7:41 a.m. till 11:50 a.m. (UTC, Greenwich Time). The peak of it will happen at 9:46 a.m. (UTC, Greenwich Time).

    In vedic tradition Grahana is an eclipse of Grahas, when one of Chaya Grahas (shadow planets - Rahu or Ketu) is “devouring” Surya (the Sun) or Chandra (the Moon). Surya among other Grahas has a special status. Surya is a Deva, representing Shiva. Furthermore, Surya symbolizes the eternally existing Atma which gives an internal light for every living human being.

    A Solar eclipse occurs when the Moon is between the Earth and Surya (the Sun). Solar eclipse always takes place in the Amavasya, when Chandra and Surya are connected to each other in one degree of house cusp. In vedic tradition all temples in India are closed on Grahana day (except the temples of Shiva). On the day of Solar eclipse people should be very careful with what they do, not to look at the Sun and can't do anything important, as the best beginnings start to cause problems and “poison a life”. Solar eclipse time is highly recommended for meditations, Dhyanas, Japas, favorable for fasting and deliverance from something unnecessary and is extremely unfavorable period for creation of something. Surya Grahana is that period when Jeeva loses it’s connection with Atma in a material world. As a result - the consciousness becomes cloudy, a man commits a wrong actions, and the "poison" of Rahu or Ketu starts to be shed on our level of living. That's why it’s highly recommended to do Japa and recite Mantras (especially those ones dedicated to Surya (Om Hrim Suryaaya Namaha!) or ShivaMahamrityunjaya Mantra, etc). Any spiritual practices, meditations, Dhyanas, ablutions after an eclipse are recommended as well.

    Important classical rules concerning this astrological event

    1) Precaution concerning non-looking at Solar eclipse: according to Muhurta Prakash (classical source on Jyotish) it is especially inauspicious if Grahana is seen by a person and it’s falling on his/her Janma Rashi (position of Chandra in person's horoscope) or 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th or 12th Rashi from Janma Rashi. In this case Grahana causes Arishta (misfortunes, troubles and calamity). Thus now, especially those people whose Chandra is in Meena (Pisces), Kanya (Virgo), Simha (Leo), Karkata (Cancer), Mithuna (Gemini) and Mesha (Aries) should be very careful and not to look on Grahana.

    2) Nakshatra occupied by Chandra (Moon) at the time of Surya Grahana (now it's Uttara Bhadrapada) must be left as it's highly malefic one without any remedy: 
    • for 6 months if the Grahana is full, 
    • 5 months if it is 3/4 part of Grahana
    • 3 months if it is half Grahana
    • one month if it is 1/4 part of Grahana
    • in all the elections.

    3) As classical sources also say, no auspicious work should be done:
    • 3 days before the Grahana if eclipsed Graha (Surya or Chandra) is set (is situated in the western horizon); 
    • 3 days after the Grahana if eclipsed Graha (Surya or Chandra) rises (when it’s situated in eastern horizon). 
    If half Grahana occurs at any other time (neither at rising nor at setting time of the luminaries) then 3 days before, the day of Grahana and 3 days after the Grahana, i.e., for 7 days no auspicious work should be done.

    4) Classical Jyotirvidyabharnam says that no auspicious work should be done:
    • in 7 days in case of full Grahana
    • in 5 days in case of 3/4 part of Grahana
    • in 4 days in case of half Grahana
    • in 3 days in case of 1/4 part of Grahana.

    5) Effects concerning Grahana in one’s Janma Kundali (horoscope): if Surya Grahana is falling on
    Janma Rashi – it causes injury and pain to the body; 
    • the 2nd Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes loss of wealth / items; 
    • the 3rd Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes gain of fame and wealth; 
    • the 4th Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes pain in body; 
    • the 5th Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes worries regarding progeny; 
    • the 6th Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes brings comforts; 
    • the 7th Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes trouble to spouse, separation;
    • the 8'h Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes death; 
    • the 9th Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes insults; 
    • the 10'h Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes comforts; 
    • the 11th Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes gains; 
    • the 12th Rashi from Janma Rashi - it causes loss of wealth, increase in expenditure. 
    If an Grahana occurs at the birth constellation, death results.

    Be careful!

    Best Regards, 
    VedicTime.Com team